Black Gals With Magic & ✨Sprinkles of Self Love✨| Emolani Morris 🌹


Hey LoveYOUself💘🌺 Fam Bam💓 Today I’m coming to you with a project that is very special to me. Growing up as a black young woman I suffered from a lot of self esteem based on how society looks upon black women, but I want all of that to change! Today I gathered questions to 8 beautiful black woman about their experiences with low self esteem, gaining self love, & becoming a strong black woman✊🏾 I hope you guys enjoy ✨

Interview Questions 🌹

🌹 Introduce yourself *name, age, fun facts about yourself*
 My name is Emolani Morris, I’m 16 years old and I’m currently wanting to peruse a career in modeling!

🌹 In your eyes what is a strong black woman?

In my eyes a strong black woman is more of a characteristic than a physical being. I believe if you love yourself to the fullest, have the confidence to just be you and not let anyone tell you how to live your life, if you are generous and care for others then I believe you are a strong black woman. 

🌹 Was there ever a time when you weren’t accepted because of your color or appearance? How did you feel about that?

In grade school, maybe grades 1-6 I had very problematic skin due to allergies to certain foods. When I would eat these foods my reaction would be to scratch myself, mostly my face and barely any other part of my body (at the time). Due to this issue I wouldn’t say I wasn’t accepted, but more of I wasn’t treated the same as other “normal looking kids”. Being left out of “the cool kids” crew made me feel like less of a kid, it drained my energy, killed all my energetic litte kid vibes. I didn’t love or accept my scars or myself.

🌹 When did you start to notice your flaws? How did you come to accept them? What are some of your flaws that you have accepted or haven’t accepted? 

I’ve always noticed my flaws mainly because they are so prominent and out there. I’ve come to accept them because I know no one is perfect, everyone has their flaws. I just came to the realization of, if I don’t love myself and put myself on a pedestal, how can I expect anyone else to? It took me years to finally be able to say I love my scars or even myself. I now love my face, the scars on my arms, on my back, on my legs, and just everything about me! Every now and then I wish I could erase my scars but they remind me of my past, my struggle with loving myself, and reminds me why I love myself. I also think of them as cheetah spots from time to time. Overall I accept my flaws.

🌹 When did you first begin to love yourself unapologetic, without nothing holding you back? What steps did you take to build your confidence? 

 I began to love myself unapologetically I believe in the summer of transitioning from grade 10 to 11. I used my style of clothing to help me build my confidence and also taking risk with myself!! I started dressing differently from everyone, showing my unique style and becoming known around my school as “Emolani, the tall girl that dresses nice” helped me build that confidence! I also recently(3 months ago) cut off all my hair because I felt like I relied on it to be my source of what made me beautiful. I wanted to test myself. I wanted to see if I could still love myself without my hair. I did, if anything I loved myself more and now it forces people to appreciate my face and it’s also a conversation starter. 

🌹 What are physical and internal things you love about yourself? 
I really love that I’m unique in every kind of way! My music taste, my height, my ethnicity, my culture, the way I talk, my smile, the fact I love to read, the fact that there were times when I wanted to just give up and I didn’t and honestly everything. I love that I don’t care what people think. I love that I keep going even when life throws me hard jabs. I love that I’m Emolani.

🌹 What would you say is the most beautiful thing about being a black woman?

 I would say the best thing about being a black woman today is we are the new IT. Black woman are being praised now for the ongoing spectrum of melanin we have. Being a black woman puts you into a sisterhood of black privilege, a community of wonderful souls that appreciate you for who you are and don’t judge you for what you’ve done.

🌹Who are some women that inspired you and helped you to embrace your culture?

 I’d say my mom definitely helped me embrace my culture (mainly the Polynesian side because I’m mixed). Besides my mom, I don’t really look up to anyone so I appreciate my mom for introducing me to her roots and also my dad who helps me understand his oldschool knowledge of black culture as compared to todays version of black culture. 

🌹 If you could change one thing about society, what would it be? 

 If I could change one thing about society I would change the way the media photoshops beyond beautiful women into something that they think is the idealistic body frame. I don’t like how if you want to be a successful model you have to be a size 2 with flawless skin. I wish there were more models with scars and stretch marks, more models of a plus size, more models with an undefined jaw. I wish there wasn’t an idealistic body, I want a society that accepts all body shapes and all beauty. 

🌹 What would you say to someone who deals with self-esteem because of their color, race, and where they come from? 

If anyone deals with self esteem issues or they have a hard time accepting themselves first of all I want them to know they aren’t alone. It’s taken me 16 years to accept myself, nonetheless love myself. It’s not an easy journey but the trials and tribulations of loving all your flaws is such an amazingly powerful new beginning. I’ve struggled with loving myslef for as long as I can remeber, loving yourself doesn’t automatically remove the negative thoughts it just helps you fight them. There are all types of people that are going to try and put you down and talk about you but that’s life! You can’t stop everyone from talking about you, but please believe me when I say, learning to have enough confidence to not care about what people say is scary to most people. When they notice their negativity can’t phase you, that defeats their whole purpose, that puts you on top. At the end of the day you’ll always wake up and see yourself in the mirror, learning to love what you are looking back at you will create an even more powerful and beautiful soul and sate of mind.
If you wanna see more of Emolani’s Black Gal Magic ✨ Follow her social links below🌻

✨Instagram.com/emolanimorris

✨Twitter.com/emolanimorris

✨Snapchat: emolanimorris

Love,

Shanti🌸

One thought on “Black Gals With Magic & ✨Sprinkles of Self Love✨| Emolani Morris 🌹

Leave a Reply

