Black Gals With Magic & ✨Sprinkles of Self Love✨| Bernadette Oppong 🌹


Hey LoveYOUself💘🌺 Fam Bam💓 Today I’m coming to you with a project that is very special to me. Growing up as a black young woman I suffered from a lot of self esteem based on how society looks upon black women, but I want all of that to change! Today I gathered questions to 8 beautiful black woman about their experiences with low self esteem, gaining self love, & becoming a strong black woman✊🏾 I hope you guys enjoy ✨

Interview Questions 🌹

🌹 Introduce yourself *name, age, fun facts about yourself* 

My name is Bernadette Oppong and I am a 21 year old student and lifestyle blogger from London. I am an undergraduate at the university of Kent where I am currently undergoing a placement year in marketing for a fashion brand. I am a bubbly, spontaneous and outgoing book worm who loves landscape photography, scenery and a cheeky cocktail.

🌹 In your eyes what is a strong black woman?

A strong black woman in my eyes is a woman who is not afraid to be vulnerable, a woman who is not afraid to FEEL and a woman who knows that a fellow black sister shining, will not dim her light. A strong black woman fills the room with positivity, warmth and light no matter what life throws at her. A strong black woman loves so freely without the expectation of reciprocity because that’s just what keeps her sane. A strong black woman raises her voice not to be heard, but so that others can have a voice. Someone who’s not afraid of “scaring someone off” with her personality because she knows that those who will meant to be will stay. She knows that if someone doesn’t want her, it’s not the end of the world but if SHE doesn’t want her, the world is nothing but ending. A strong black woman grabs the world by the throat and says you are mine.

🌹 When did you start to notice your flaws? How did you come to accept them? What are some of your flaws that you have accepted or haven’t accepted? 

I started to notice my flaws when I decided to dedicate a whole year (2016) to myself and myself only. That’s the year I learned so much about myself, learned how to be alone and I became more myself than I ever have been. As I was willing to improve I noticed one of my flaws was pushing away opportunities due to a lack of confidence, doubting myself and then complaining when others do the same, always feeling sorry for myself (regular pity parties if I do say so myself). I was able to overcome these flaws by the following steps .
✨Doing something that scares me, no matter how big or small

✨Exposing myself to what scares me 

✨The comfort zone challenge (putting yourself in a position where you are nervous and vulnerable to rejection 

It took me a while and although it’s an ongoing process that I am still trying to get better at today, I am no where near to how I was initially

🌹 When did you first begin to love yourself unapologetic, without nothing holding you back? What steps did you take to build your confidence? 

I first started to love myself when I came to a consensus to become carefree. From this, I no longer gave a toss about how I was being perceived by humans who don’t even know how to spell my name, I literally did my own thing, lived at my own pace, made sure my people were good and minded my own business. When I realised that the way I was so comfortable with myself as well as my confidence threatened others, I knew I was doing something right.

🌹 What are physical and internal things you love about yourself? 

The physical thing I love the most about myself is my smile. From being told for years how beautiful it is I have genuinely grown to love it, the internal thing I love about myself is my heart. The fact that I will always spread love no matter what life throws at me, the fact that I will always go all out for others without expecting anything back.

🌹 What would you say is the most beautiful thing about being a black woman?

The most beautiful thing about being a black woman is how graciously we stick together. The fact that no matter how subpar society views us, we always do the most and succeed at it too. We are beautiful inside and out!

🌹Who are some women that inspired you and helped you to embrace your culture?

A women who has inspired me and helped me embrace my culture is my grandmother. She is literally my third parent who raised me just as much as my own. She has taught me about out culture (Ghana) through stories, teachings, and experience. She has inspired me to become the woman I aspire to be and I firmly believe that I’m no longer far from it.

🌹 If you could change one thing about society, what would it be? 

If I could change one thing about society it would be to abolish the particular image it has on what beauty is and should be. As this evidently impacts the way we see ourselves and its not always necessarily in a positive way. But rather, to acknowledge beauty comes in all shapes, sizes, shades, race, ethnicity, male or female.

🌹 What would you say to someone who deals with self-esteem because of their color, race, and where they come from? 

I would say to someone with self esteem issues because of their color, race or where they’re from that the way they feel will understandably not diminish over night, so their feelings should not be ignored or dismissed. Those going through such should take small steps into self love, affirmations and surround themselves by loved ones, just anyone they can speak to who can give them constant reassurance that they are great just the way they are as well as help them undertake such steps.

If you wanna see more of Berndette’s Black Gal Magic ✨ Follow her social links below🌻

✨Blog: https://lifeofberns.com

Love,

Shanti🌸

2 thoughts on “Black Gals With Magic & ✨Sprinkles of Self Love✨| Bernadette Oppong 🌹

  1. It’s nuts isn’t it? I saw your supermodel face from my wordpress reader and I was like “whatever this chick says, that’s what I’m doing” and the first thing is ” low self esteem” How we view ourselves can be so skewed. Loe your blog girl.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

