Black Gals with Magic & ✨ Sprinkles of Self Love✨ | Ahtiya Liles 🌹


Hey LoveYOUself💘🌺 Fam Bam💓 Today I’m coming to you with a project that is very special to me. Growing up as a black young woman I suffered from a lot of self esteem based on how society looks upon black women, but I want all of that to change! Today I gathered questions to 8 beautiful black woman about their experiences with low self esteem, gaining self love, & becoming a strong black woman✊🏾 I hope you guys enjoy ✨

Interview Questions 🌹

🌹 Introduce yourself *name, age, fun facts about yourself* 

Hi, my name is Ahtiya! I’m 21 years old. Fun facts: I have two doves, I’m a blogger and YouTuber, and my favorite snack combo is popcorn with Cheez-Itz.

🌹 In your eyes what is a strong black woman?

 A strong black woman realizes that vulnerability isn’t weakness or the opposite of strength. She realizes that it’s okay to cry, scream, rage, and want to curl up into a ball when it becomes too much; at the same time, she also knows how to pick herself back up when it’s time and keep moving. A strong black woman also realizes that there’s strength in numbers and that you don’t always have to carry burdens or complete tasks alone; it’s okay to ask for help.

🌹 Was there ever a time when you weren’t accepted because of your color or appearance? How did you feel about that? 

When I was in middle school, the kids used to tease me about how short my hair was when I first got it flat-ironed. It made me extremely self-conscious about not only my hair but about every part of me, especially my face. I questioned whether or not I was ugly, and I longed for longer hair. It got the point where I developed a sort of social anxiety in sixth grade. I would stand outside the classroom for several minutes before coming in or coming back from the restroom, mentally preparing myself to walk in because I was afraid and anxious about people looking at me as I walked in. Before raising my hand to answer a question, I would over-think what I would say, sometimes resulting in the moment being gone and me never getting the chance to answer the question. It may seem like such a small thing, being teased about the length of my hair, but it set off other issues that I’m still fighting off today.
🌹 When did you start to notice your flaws? How did you come to accept them? What are some of your flaws that you have accepted or haven’t accepted?

 I think the better question is when I did start to ignore my flaws ha ha. I’ve always been made aware of my “flaws.” I have early memories of my mother telling me that I was speaking too loud or being too dramatic, and then in high school, that I was gaining weight and I still receive comments about my weight to do this day. I’ve been made to feel too aggressive or too passionate by others. This fed into my already bad habit of overanalyzing things in my head to the point where I never spoke about them. I started to realize the flaws that nobody can see (poor interpersonal communication skills and fear of messing up being the two biggest ones) when I was in college and had to spend a lot of time with myself, overthinking every bad decision I had ever made. I came to accept them by realizing that I can’t change the past; I can only use it to my advantage as a learning mechanism.

🌹 When did you first begin to love yourself unapologetic, without nothing holding you back? What steps did you take to build your confidence? 

I think I first started to love myself unapologetically my freshmen year of high school. I started saying positive things to myself, even when I didn’t necessarily believe them, and at some point, my perception of myself started to change. Funnily enough, I actually have both a blog article and YouTube video about how to boost one’s self-confidence.
🌹 What are physical and internal things you love about yourself? 

 My drive, my passion, and my willingness to better myself and my craft are things I love about myself. And also my eyes and lips.
🌹 What would you say is the most beautiful thing about being a black woman? 

 One of the most beautiful things about being a black woman is our ability to be trendsetters without trying.

🌹Who are some women that inspired you and helped you to embrace your culture? 

Solange, Beyoncé, Serena Williams, Viola Davis, Kerry Washington, Taraji P. Henson, Audre Lorde, Claudia Rankine.
🌹 If you could change one thing about society, what would it be? 

There’s so much racism and anti-blackness, sexism/misogyny, homophobia, and illogical hate in our society that ultimately perpetuates the death of people, so I would get rid of all of that.

🌹 What would you say to someone who deals with self-esteem because of their color, race, and where they come from? 

Usually our low opinions of ourself come from those around us, so, if you can, change who you are around or how long you around them. Find people who will love and accept you and have a positive and healthy relationship with themselves. Eventually, their positivity and self-esteem will rub off on you, and in the process, you’ll learn the myriad of reasons why you should love yourself.

If you wanna see more of Ahtiya’s Black Gal Magic ✨ Follow her social links below🌻

✨ Instagram.com/_AhtiyaL_

✨ Twitter.com/_AhtiyaL_

✨Facebook.com/AhtiyaLiles

✨Blog: http://www.casualanxiety.com

Love,

Shanti🌸

Leave a Reply

