Don’t Be Afraid To Glow✨


Going back to college this week has definitely been a struggle for me. Let’s just say, the anxiety has been more real than ever! To give you a little back story, I haven’t always been a shy girl; I was the social butterfly as y’all call it. Once I got older and started becoming unhappy with myself, I figured other people would be as well. So, let’s fast forward to the first day back to college. I’m in my English class right, and I love this subject, so in my head I’m like, “Calm down Ashanti, this is gonna be a cool, chill class” (and let me just mention that my English teacher has to be the dopest one alive). He makes music, he’s been on tour with lots of well known artists; he’s just cool like that😎. Toward the end of the class, we got to that part that everyone hates. The “let’s introduce ourselves” part. My heart sunk, dude! We were told to say our names, where we were from, and an interesting fact about us. So he went around the room and I was next. I had everything written down, but once he got to me, the words couldn’t come out. Let’s just say I was looking at him for a whole minute while looking like a complete fool! I finally said what I had to say, yet I still left the class embarrassed. This story doesn’t end here though! I’m enrolled in a public speaking class that Ray and I have been excited for. We applied for the same class so that we would be more comfortable, and of course I wanted to be in a class with my boo, who wouldn’t? Let me tell you everything that went wrong! First, we got to class late, so we couldn’t sit next to each other. Then, when we sat down, our first assignment was layed on the desk. I’m thinking, “Bruh, I just got in here!” Then, I looked and it said we had to write a 1 minute speech in 20 minutes! 20 MINUTES? WHAT? I’m freaking out, I’m about to cry, and I’m tasting my lunch I had an hour ago. Even though Ray was trying to calm me down, it didn’t help. In that moment, I felt so helpless and controlled by fear! Ray was calm because he was in speech and debate in high school, so he was used to it. You would think I could easily talk in front of a crowd of people because I wrote blogs, yet that’s why I WROTE blogs. It’s easy for me to type my feelings instead of saying them out loud. Even though blogging is my outlet, I’ve learned that being afraid to speak can affect my opportunities in the future. How am I going to get where I need to go hanging my head low and not saying anything? Talking is one of my biggest fears that I have to overcome, and starting today, I’m on that journey. By the way, ya girl made an A on her speech. I still have a lot of work to do, yet I’m growing one step at a time. Don’t be afraid to have a voice and attract people with your God given glow. Be you. Never dim your light! I love you guys and I hope you guys have a nice day❤

Love, Shanti 

P.S. Don’t forget to tell yourself “Love You Self!” 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Be Afraid To Glow✨

Leave a Reply

