Self Confidence/ Story Time

 I’m going to be completely honest with y’all; my self confidence sometimes sucks! I have my days where I feel like I’m everything, I’m beautiful, and I’m just on top of the world! Then, I have my days where I’m literally comparing myself to every girl I see on social media and bashing myself for not having those physical characteristics that they have. Growing up, I never really had confidence. I never saw myself as beautiful but I would get so happy when people thought I was. I depended on others to boost my self confidence and make me feel like I have self worth, but baby you won’t be safisted until you realize how beautiful you are. At the end of the day, there is no one with you but you. No matter how many Insta likes and comments you get, girl you will always compare yourself, put yourself down, and eventually lose yourself in the process. This month has been hard for me, a lot of things have happened, but let me share a story with you guys. If you follow me on most of my social medias, you will know that I was so excited about getting my braids back! I was so happy and I was literally counting down the days. When the day came, I went to the hair store to get the braids. My hair color is black, so of course that’s what I looked for. I’ve never really been into trying new colors for my hair because I’m super simple, so black was what I was gonna get. I couldn’t find my regular black, so the lady showed me another black and of course, I took it. I went to go get my hair did and when I looked myself in the mirror I saw GREY! GREY?? HOW?? Instead of being jet black, the color was pearl bkack! I thought my life was over. I was crying all weekend trying my best to hide my face. No matter how many times people complimented my hair, I still wasn’t happy with it. I saw myself breaking down because of one temporary flaw. Ray sat me down and told me, “Ashanti, you should know that you make the hair.. the hair doesn’t make you. Stop letting something temporary stop you from loving Yourself.” I didn’t understand at first, though throughout this month I started to realize. I realized that I put so much worth into my hair that I forgot about myself. In reality, the hair wouldn’t be anything without me; it would be a regular pack of hair. Instead of getting my hair re-did, I kept the hair in my head and I’m currently still wearing it and… I LOVE IT! Not only is it something different, but it’s also a lesson; don’t depend on material things or people as a self-confidence booster, for they can bring you down as well. That’s why we need to hold onto our worth and know that we are truly beautiful.

Love,

Shanti

P.S. Don’t forget to tell yourself “Love You Self!” 

2 thoughts on “Self Confidence/ Story Time

Leave a Reply

