Who Is Ashanti? 

“Who is Ashanti?” I ask myself that same question almost everyday! It’s so easy for me to go in depth about the people I’m close with, but if you would have asked me a year ago what’s my purpose or what am I going to be, I would have probably looked at you and just smiled. Of course, I knew the basic things, but I knew I was more than just a black church girl in college trying to become a social worker. I remember in highschool they would make us write boost poems about ourselves and describe who we are and who we are becoming. I was so afraid to put beautiful, smart, and different because I felt like other people didn’t feel the same. Growing up, I let people’s thoughts define me as a person. What I really wanted to put on that paper was ugly, stupid, and weird. It seemed like I was so confused about who I was. I questioned so many things about myself, and soon, I was looking for answers. A close friend of mine told me, “If you want to actually know who you are, you would go to your creator. God is the only person that can lead you to your answers.” When she told me that, I realized that this man knows everything about me! He created me, He knows every move I make, He knows all of my thoughts. From that day forward, I would always ask God to show me the real Ashanti. Of course some of my questions still need answers, but let me tell you something: I am a BEAUTIFUL BLACK GIRL. I’m very intelligent, and I could probably teach you a couple of things. I’m different and weird, but that’s okay! I hope you’ll be weird one day too. I’m creative, I’m an artist. I don’t know what my purpose is yet, however I know that this, right here, will get me closer and closer to it. In order to love ourselves, we first have to know who we are. So, who are you? 
Love, 

Shanti. 

P.S. Don’t forget to tell yourself “Love You Self” 

Leave a Reply

